Twinkle, Twinkle

You might say that I’m a little late in getting this post up.  You would be right.  The newest member of our growing family, whose blog name shall be Little Star, was born July 19, 2010 at 11:26 am.  She was 8 pounds, 9 ounces, and, sadly, I’ve already forgotten how long she was.  20 inches does ring a bell, though.

First out of womb picture-Very appropriate that it is with Man of the House.  She is a Daddy’s Girl, and that brings me such great joy.

For those of you completely uninterested in the labor story, feel free to jump ahead to the pictures.  I always enjoy telling and hearing birth stories.  This birth story got a little trumped by other events, but I’ll handle the reason for that in another post.  My due date was July 18th which fell on a Sunday.  The nice part about it being Sunday was that I wasn’t sitting around thinking about having a baby.  I simply enjoyed having a calm day to spend together as a family. (I could write a book about the weeks leading up to labor.  This relaxing day was definitely in order for us.)  The big event of the day was swimming in a neighbor’s pool.  I did plenty of canon balls in the hopes that I would have a baby within the next few days.  My sister came into town Sunday evening and was planning to stay for a few days.  She, of course, had planned on coming then thinking that a baby would have already arrived.  Luckily for us, when I woke up at 1:30 in the morning and timed contractions for an hour, we had only to wake her and go to the hospital.  No frantic “We’re in labor!” phone calls necessary, and the kids could remain peacefully asleep.  🙂

Man of the House prepared a pot of coffee and we were out the door.  It’s not that we were in a hurry to get to the hospital because of labor progressing.  We just wanted to be sure that I got a full two rounds of antibiotics so that I could get up and move around as much as possible.  This labor was the slowest and most steady of all of my labors. I have to admit, I’d rather just get it over with.  Around 7 am I was getting a little antsy.  I was pretty certain that baby was posterior, and sure enough she was.  This made the last part of labor a bit more hectic as it made transition last longer.  Man of the House was such an amazing coach!!!  If you would have told me after our first child that he would become such a great labor coach, I might have laughed. . . long and hard.  He had just the right amount of gentleness and was very comforting, but the football coach inside did come out at a few points.  We had quite an experienced nurse-who appreciated Man of the House’s sense of humor and sensed that we pretty much wanted to be left alone as much as possible.  She was absolutely fantastic when it came to figuring out that we had a posterior baby and getting her to turn.  While it was an incredibly painful maneuver and I had no faith that it would work (What a *glorious* phase transition is-enough is enough already!), she and Man of the House remained calm and coached me through, secretly happy because even though I was sure that labor would never end, they knew I was almost done.  I had to lay flat on my back for 10 minutes with a towel rolled under the small of my back.  The nurse had mercy on me and let me roll over after only 5 minutes.  I then had to move onto my belly with one hand over my head.  I don’t think I’ve ever cried so hard in all of my life!  I eventually felt baby turn and felt the urge to push.  WATCH OUT! I should have forewarned the nurse that I can’t not push.  She rolled me over and cheerfully phoned the doctor to let her know baby was coming soon.  Upon hanging up, she took one look at me and immediately phoned again-this time shouting, “I need a doctor in here NOW!”  She coached me through breathing techniques to stop pushing.  Didn’t work.  Thankfully, my doctor came in just in time.  She was rushing him to get his gloves on, but he was not a man to be “pushed” (bad pun intended).  I don’t really recall, but I’m not sure my Little Star was caught by anyone, but she is no worse for the wear.  All I know is that I will never forget the moment when I first saw her beautiful tiny face with such big, beautiful alert eyes!  She didn’t make a peep.  After an hour of skin to skin contact and some breastfeeding, she was given a bath so that we could move to our postpartum room.  I’ve never done skin to skin contact immediately after birth.  I enjoyed it, in spite of getting poop all over my hands.

Everyone enjoys her so much!  She is an amazing blessing already!!  Such a peaceful, peaceful baby!First visit!  Littler was so concerned after going home that Little Star and I stayed at the hospital.  What a sweet little heart he has.  He really wanted us home!Oh, so Little!!

BLISS!

One of my favorites.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twinkle, Twinkle

  1. Gail Tully says:

    Yours is a unique birth story! Thank you for sharing your journey. You can imagine my interest and curiosity about the techniques the nurse had you doing! Rolling over with your hand over your head, now that’s new even to me. Could you connect me up with your nurse? Please give her my email or tell me (privately) which hospital she was at and I will try to find her if you aren’t sure how to reach her. Please give her my email address.
    Thank you so so much!!

Leave a Reply

